The MPG is a Group for co-ordinating activities between
Athy, Birr, Happy Snappers (Fisherstown), Mountmellick, Tullamore, South Kildare (Newbridge) Portarlington and Mountrath & District Camera Clubs

The MPG host events and competitions for all member clubs to attend.

The MPG Shield is an annual competition between all member clubs held in November, all clubs must enter a colour and black and white panel of images for judging, an overall individual image with the highest score is awarded the title of “Midlands Photographer of the Year” 

Athy Photographic Society have had great success in the MPG and have won the MPG shield for the past 2 yrs and in 2016 club member Suzanne Behan was awarded the title of Midlands Photographer of the year

Best colour Image & Best Black & White Image on Athy Panel winners 2017

Pat Fleming & Suzanne Behan 

Best Colour Image – Pat Fleming, Best B&W Image Suzanne Behan MPG Shield  2017


MPG Photographer of the year 2016 winner Suzanne Behan with competition sponsor Paul Whiteley
2016 MPG shield Winners Athy
2015 MPG shield winners Athy